Why you should never reject a compliment, and 18 ways to accept one.

Adam Albrecht
3 min readAug 4, 2019

--

I love complimenting others. It is one of my favorite things to do. I love recognizing a job well done. I like pointing out strengths. I love celebrating significant accomplishments. And I like telling people they look nice. I am like the Franks RedHot Lady. I put compliments on everything.

Go Big & Go Small

I compliment the big obvious performances. But I really like to highlight the small things that would typically fly under the radar. I love to show people that I noticed the details, the extra effort and the small sacrifices that were not likely to draw much attention.

Thinking Of Going Pro

If I could be a professional complementer I would. It’s one of the few professions that I would enjoy even more than my current role as an entrepreneur. It feels good to offer compliments. It calls more attention to the good things in life. Which in turn helps create a more positive world. Because complimenting is like carrying around a giant highlighter and marking a bright yellow swipe of sunshine on all the good things you find.

If I could change one thing.

As much as I love to give a compliment it often generates one of my greatest pet peeves. I really dislike it when people don’t know how to receive a compliment. You may think that denying a compliment makes you appear humble or modest. But it doesn’t. Because when you deny a compliment you are telling the complimenter that they are wrong. Which is rude. Unintentionally rude. But rude nonetheless. #3wordsin1

The Rudeness of Rejection

When you reject a compliment from someone you are telling them that they:

  1. Have bad taste.
  2. Are ill-informed.
  3. Don’t know what they are talking about.
  4. Are too easily impressed.
  5. Don’t know as much as you do.

Do This Instead

Even if you don’t feel worthy of praise you should gracefully accept it. There are many ways to properly accept a compliment. Here are just a few examples:

18 Acceptable Responses To A Compliment

  1. Thank you. (this one works really well)
  2. I appreciate that.
  3. Thanks for noticing.
  4. That is nice to hear.
  5. You made my day.
  6. You are so sweet (works better for ladies)
  7. I’m just doing my job.
  8. I’m thrilled you think so.
  9. You would know.
  10. That means a lot coming from you.
  11. Do you really think so? (this allows them to heap more praise and offer more details)
  12. I got lucky.
  13. I am humbled.
  14. It was a team effort.
  15. That saying about blind squirrels.
  16. Can you follow me around everyday?
  17. Tell me more.
  18. Can you write my Tinder profile? (I don’t know if there is such a thing.)

Key Takeaway

If you want to live in a world with more praise than criticism you have to learn how to accept a compliment. Because if you can’t take a compliment eventually there will be no compliments to deny. Don’t let that happen. Let’s encourage others to recognize the good they see.

Accept compliments with gratitude. Remember them. Write them down. And read them again whenever you need a confidence boost.

Remember, praise is one of the most meaningful gifts we can offer one another. So if you want to see more praise in circulation, make sure not to deny it when it comes your way.

*If you know someone who could benefit from this story please share it with them.

Originally published at http://theperfectagencyproject.com on August 4, 2019.

--

--

Adam Albrecht

I am a growth-minded entrepreneur and author of the book What Does Your Fortune Cookie Say? I share what I'm learning on my journey. And I try to make it funny.