Why I have learned from writing 850 blog posts.

Adam Albrecht
3 min readMar 7, 2023

--

It’s hard to believe that I have been writing this blog for over 7 years now. This is my 850th post. (The headline out front should have told you.)

When I first started blogging I was a new entrepreneur and wanted to share my experiences with the world. I wanted other people to benefit from both my failures and successes. Plus, I loved the idea of writing with no client, editor or teacher telling me what I could or couldn’t include. #boogerpoopbutt

I thought that blogging was a simple undertaking where I just sat down to type out my thoughts, learnings, and experiences 5 days a week. But now it is starting to feel like blogging was never just blogging. It was building a bridge to something else. Although I am not sure what. Maybe Terabithia.

Not long after I started writing the blog I was encouraged by readers to start a podcast. Or a vlog. Neither of which I have done. So if that was my thing, I’m not picking up the hint. Kinda like when that girl in 8th grade kept asking me to go for a walk in the woods behind the library.

But readers also encouraged me to write a book. I never thought I would find the time to write something so significant. But then covid happened. Which was bad. But it did cough free time all over me. Which was good.

I used that free time to write my first book, What Does Your Fortune Cookie Say? Readers have offered such a positive response to the book that I thought maybe blogging was setting me up to become an author. Maybe I was supposed to Twain myself up with an alias. Perhaps I was supposed to move to Paris. Or become a recluse in Cornish, New Hampshire. Or shoot my remains out of cannon in Aspen. So I began working on more books. In December I published another book I co-authored with Jeff Hilimire titled The Culture Turnaround.

But the book writing led to speaking opportunities. Not 1. Not 2 or 3. But many. And they keep coming. I don’t advertise that I give talks. But the requests keep coming anyway. Plus, they pay. Which means there must be value in what I am doing. In fact, I have made more money from speaking than from book sales. And no one ever paid me to blog. But then again, I like the control I have as Kenny Bloggins.

So, is the speaking the thing? I have no idea. I have grown and shed my skin enough times now that I am resigned to the fact that I don’t know where this is going. And I’m not sure it matters.

What I have learned

  • I learned that by starting a blog I gave myself a platform to create from.
  • I learned that by writing 5 days a week I developed my own writing style. Which is exactly like my speaking style. Only quieter.
  • I learned that sharing positivity gets positive responses. (Well mostly. Cuz grouches gonna grouch.)
  • I learned that if you always drop funny lines people will read anything you write just for the funny parts.
  • I learned that authors have much greater credibility than bloggers.
  • I have learned that speaking opportunities are great because they let you see people’s reactions to your stories.
  • I learned that the writer learns more than the reader.
  • I learned that the 2 great keys to success are getting started and not stopping.

Key Takeaway

Start doing that thing that really interests you. When you are excited about what you are doing you will pour a lot of time and energy into it. When you do that you will become really good at it. And people will notice. And it will open more doors to more opportunities. You never know how far it will take you. Which is part of the fun.

*If you enjoyed this please consider subscribing to receive my latest posts at AdamAlbrecht.blog by email 3 days per week.

+For more of the best life lessons I have learned check out my book, What Does Your Fortune Cookie Say? from Ripples Media.

Originally published at http://adamalbrecht.blog on March 7, 2023.

--

--

Adam Albrecht

I am a growth-minded entrepreneur and author of the book What Does Your Fortune Cookie Say? I share what I'm learning on my journey. And I try to make it funny.