How to respond to adversity like a good pilot.

Adam Albrecht
2 min readMar 12, 2023

--

Earlier this week I was on a flight from Milwaukee to Atlanta when the plane encountered significant turbulence. I wasn’t worried about my personal safety. But I was concerned about my MacBook Pro’s electrical circuits as the flight attendant passed a very bouncy cup of orange juice over my laptop at a low altitude.

After several long minutes of bouncing, I felt like a pioneer crossing the prairie in a covered wagon. Except this wagon featured wi-fi, a lavatory, and lighted signs and placards.

Finally, the pilot decided it was time for his State-of-The-Cabin address. He announced, ‘We are dealing with a lot of chop here. So we’re going to try to find a better altitude.’

I immediately loved the idea of finding a better altitude. Not just on a bouncy Boeing. But anytime you encounter chop that doesn’t come from a butcher.

When you find resistance and rough going, you can suffer through it. Or you can look for a better altitude. Which means trying a different path, adjusting your angle, or altering your approach.

Exploring different altitudes can help you find a better way to solve problems, reduce resistance, and connect with others people. But most importantly, exploring different altitudes can help you find the best attitude. And that often makes all the difference.

Key Takeaway

When things are bumpy look for another altitude. There are many different paths to take. Some are better than others. There is no single approach that works best all the time. But you won’t find a better alternative unless you look for it. Because a little trial and error is often the best way to find the best way.

*If you know someone who could benefit from this message, please share it with them.

+For more of the best life lessons I have learned check out my book, What Does Your Fortune Cookie Say? from Ripples Media.

Originally published at http://adamalbrecht.blog on March 12, 2023.

--

--

Adam Albrecht

I am a growth-minded entrepreneur and author of the book What Does Your Fortune Cookie Say? I share what I'm learning on my journey. And I try to make it funny.