6 Tips to help you read more books this year.

Adam Albrecht
3 min readJan 3, 2023

--

My reading list, and my typewriter.

Every year I set a goal of reading 12 books. The number is based on reading a book each month. It has nothing to do with eggs, donuts, or disciples.

Typically I read far more than my goal. Because I read at least 12 to 15 physical books and listen to 15 or more audiobooks each year while driving, mowing my lawn, or trying to get to the Tootsie Roll center of a Tootsie Pop.

I want to be purposeful with my reading. So on New Year’s Eve, I identified and gathered the 12 books I want to read this year. The books all share valuable lessons that I want to learn. Which is why I consider them my coursework for the year.

My reading list for 2023.

But Wait, There’s More!

To help me reach my reading goal I didn’t just pick out the books. I took 5 more steps:

2. I brought one book to my office at The Weaponry so I can read during lunch. (And so I can put a book on my head and work on my posture while working at work. Which is 3 works in 1.)

3. I placed one book on my nightstand. When I have a few minutes before bed I can read a few pages as my day’s intellectual dessert. (Note: I read in a chair in my bedroom. I never read in bed. It’s against my Ja rules.)

4. I placed one of the books in my car so that I can read while I am waiting to pick up my kids from school, practice, or jail.

5. I keep one book in my work bag. Because that thing goes with me everywhere. That way I will always have a book with me when I am stuck somewhere, when I am waiting for someone, or when I need a little paper to start a fire to save my life.

Key Takeaway

To meet your reading goal for this year don’t just say you want to read more. Find the books you want to read and create your 2023 reading list. Display the books where you are reminded of your goal, and where you can easily pick up the book when you have a few minutes to spare. Having a book at the ready when boredom strikes will prevent you from wasting your spare moments by twiddling on your little digital buddy. Because you don’t need more time on your phone this year. But you could always use more knowledge and inspiration.

*If you know someone who could benefit from this message, please share it with them.

+For more of the best life lessons I have learned check out my book, What Does Your Fortune Cookie Say? from Ripples Media.

Originally published at http://adamalbrecht.blog on January 3, 2023.

--

--

Adam Albrecht

I am a growth-minded entrepreneur and author of the book What Does Your Fortune Cookie Say? I share what I'm learning on my journey. And I try to make it funny.