6 Great books I read in September that you should read in October.

Adam Albrecht
4 min readSep 30, 2022

--

While driving between The Weaponry’s offices in Milwaukee and Columbus this week I hit my max. No, not max driving speed. Or the maximum amount of time I could stand sitting. Which is a funny thing to say. I maxed out on the number of audiobooks I could listen to this month on my library app. My app (Hoopla) maxes out at 6 books per month. I hit 6 and would have kept going if they let me. But alas, I have to wait until tomorrow to get a fresh allocation of audiobooks. And another opportunity to use alas in a sentence.

Here are the 6 great audiobooks I listened to in September:

This is a fascinating look at the one-time world’s richest man. It offers great inspiration for entrepreneurs and business humans. But it’s a great story of putting your wealth to good use for the planet. I was shocked at all that the Rockefellers helped create. It went well beyond the oysters and the ice skating center.

Rating: Read it to know how it all happened.

2. Truman by David McCullough. ( 2274 5-star reviews on Amazon)

This is about President Harry S. Truman’s remarkable life and impact on the world. The audiobook is over 50 hours long. And that doesn’t even include the movie with Jim Carey.

Rating; Read it if you have time.

3. Trillion Dollar Coach by Eric Schmidt, Jonathan Rosenberg & Alan Eagle.

This was an amazing find about a guy named Bill Campbell who started out as the head football coach at Columbia. He then joined Apple and became the CEO of Intuit. He went on to coach some of the biggest icons and best companies in Silicon Valley, including Google and Apple.

Rating: Highly Recommend. And not just because Bill used the F-word a lot.

4. $100 Million Offers by Alex Hormozi

Hormozi is a highly successful young entrepreneur with a massive following uncommon for someone who typically wears cutoff jean shorts, wife-beaters and flannels. The book teaches you how to market great offers (what I might call offerings or deals) to help generated leads and close sales.

Rating: Highly Recommend.

5. Rising Tide: The Great Mississippi Flood of 1927 and How It Changed America by John M. Barry

This is about the Mississippi River, attempts to manage the river, and the epic flood of 1927. Read this if you are into history, weather, or still need to learn how to spell Mississippi. I’d like to make this story into a movie.

Rating: Totes Recommend.

6. The Untethered Soul by Michael Singer.

This is a deep book that takes a look at what our minds and selves really are, and how they are untethered by our physical bodies. It has 26,196 reviews on Amazon. So you know it is better than Waffle House. This is a book you should read to think more deeply about who you really are at the highest level.

Rating: You Gotsta Read

Key Takeaway:

Keep Reading. Keep Learning. Keep maxing out the number of books the library will loan you if you want to maximize your investment in yourself.

*If you know someone who could benefit from this message, please share it with them.

+If you’re into books, also check out my new book, What Does Your Fortune Cookie Say? from Ripples Media.

Originally published at http://adamalbrecht.blog on September 30, 2022.

--

--

Adam Albrecht

I am a growth-minded entrepreneur and author of the book What Does Your Fortune Cookie Say? I share what I'm learning on my journey. And I try to make it funny.